Wedding Worries

Just over three and a half months to go. We’ve already got the invitations, the flowers and greenery for the bouquets, food being planned, centerpieces planned out, my dress is hanging in the closet. All that in just over a month. It’s moving pretty damn fast. 

WooHoo

But I worry. I worry and stress, because Finn’s planned wardrobe isn’t up to his mom’s  (FMIL) standards. She wants him in a suit. I don’t. It’s not him. 

Another major worry for me is his sister-in-law. His brother and her got married last October, and we unintentionally set our date a week before their anniversary. 

Whoops. 



We chose our date for a multitude of reasons. Major one being 10/7/17 = 10+7=17. Then, there’s a chance my brother could have cancer (seriously, FUCK cancer!), and well, if it hadn’t been for the fact that I was still legally married to XH, we would have been married a year ago. 

Every time our engagement and wedding come up in front of her, she gets this weird facial expression. Like, a combination of sadness and jealousy. I don’t know what to think. They’ve been married nearly a year, and still don’t have rings. As far as I’m aware, she doesn’t even have an engagement ring. I’m sorry, but that’s not our fault. Finn’s brother (her husband) is a cheapskate. Again, not our fault. They got married in their pastor’s back yard, with only Finn’s parents and siblings (minus Finn and I) in attendance. Again, not our fault. If she wanted a real wedding, she should have held her ground. 

Part of me worries that they’ll figure out a way to take the attention off of us, and onto them. Like, they’ll try to turn it into the wedding they didn’t get to have, on our dime. I barely know her, but I wouldn’t put it past him, to be honest. Or, that he’ll encourage her to do it, knowing she’s from a different culture and might not know any better. 

Maybe it’s because I’ve been reading horror stories, maybe it’s because of my previous experience  (XH’s family ruined wedding planning for me), but I’m scared that his family will take over, and completely upstage us at our own wedding. 

Posted on June 19, 2017, in Blogging, engagement, family, Finn, life, love, Relationships, wedding, wedding planning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. weddings can be such a fuster-cluck adding heaps of stress to what is hoped to be such a glorious day. sometimes, it doesn’t seem fair or right. keep your eye on the prize. don’t forget the wedding is a day, a marriage is a lifetime. what one is more important to you? if it’s the second, you might have to put up with quite a bit a shit, as you are finding out, to get to the first.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Suspicion Confirmed… | Starting Fresh

  2. Pingback: Here We Go Again… | Starting Fresh

  3. Pingback: More FSIL Drama… | Starting Fresh

Leave a Reply

